Our organic baby care “must haves” 

Now let me start by telling you that I am really not all that crunchy (no seriously). I wash my hair with the little blue bottle of Argan Moroccan Oil shampoo from Walmart, and use the yellow Vaseline lotion that smells so darn good. I love organic products, but they tend to be so expensive… I do use organic toothpaste (not Toms. Toms is not organic) and try to use organic facial moisturizer. So you see, I’m really not all that crunchy. Here’s the thing… When you have a tiny human on the way, whom for you get to choose everything that comes in contact with, you get a little picky… Or at least I am. When I started researching baby products, I was a tad shocked by how horrible some of the ingredients are. This includes diapers… Yes, diapers have ingredients. Don’t look them up if you don’t want major conviction to sweep you off your feet. As research grew more extensive, I knew that I wanted to know exactly where everything came from and be able to read and know what each ingredient on it was. Is that a bit much? Not in my opinion… It’s up to me as a mama what I put into my baby’s system, and I darn well want to know exactly what it is! So the search for the best and most trusted organic baby products began. Let me just share with you what I found, because it took me HOURS AND MONTHS to figure out what I thought sounded the safest and best. 

So it began with baby care items. Shampoo, lotion, diaper cream… you get the idea. The mainstream brands that you see marketed for babies is full of absolute junk, but it’s very affordable which is where the pitfall happens. Plus everybody uses it and nobody has died from using Johnson and Johnson so far (worst excuse ever to use it). But I’m going to try not to pick on any particular brands. Key word try. Ultimately these are the products we finally settled on, and so far I’m very happy with each one of them.  

 
The Earth Mama Angel Baby line is hard to beat when you want something you can trust, and that still has a high performance. I can read and comprehend all the ingredients, (which I love) I have loved the way they go on and make my skin feel, annnnnd they smell down right dreamy. Not your universal baby smell though, if that’s what you’re choosing your shampoo/lotion based on. It’s got a very light Orange Vanilla smell that doesn’t linger but smells oh so sweet as you’re using it and for a bit after applying it. I will say, this stuff is pricey… I would never spend this much on myself for shampoo and lotion. But for Judah and I, it really wasn’t a deal breaker since we read up on it and felt so good about using it on Iver. Now with diaper cream I wanted to use them as well, but I also wanted to try something from the Babo Bontanical line since it is so affordable and also has awesome, easy to understand ingredients. The only complaint with them is the strong smell of their products, which I can attest to now that I’ve opened and smelled the diaper cream. HOWEVER… It got such amazing reviews as far as performance (bonus points for being cloth diaper friendly) and the smell doesn’t linger at all. We shall see what my little ones bum bum thinks about it and I’ll get back to you. The Honest Co stuff is from the free trial I ordered a few weeks back, and the hand sanitizer spray was a gift from another mama who uses their products. Let me start by saying, I LOVE this hand spray. Holy cow. I am keeping one bottle in the diaper bag, and one in the diaper caddy to have on hand for visitors and myself. The shampoo smells devine (more orange vanilla) and the organic healing blam is absolutely awesome. I’ve used half the little tube on a rash that I got a few weeks back, and my husbands broken knuckles after he spent a day planting a field. I have a feeling that stuff is gonna become a staple. 

   
 
So next up is diapers and wipes. This has to be the category I spent the most time researching… And for good reason. The popular diaper brands on the market have terrible ingredients, and after reading about each of them it’s very understandable as to why so many babies have problems with bad diaper rashes. They are full of chemicals, bleaches, latex, and a whole host of other scary things that you can look up if you dare. Now me being so allergic to latex (found this out at the dentist as a child) I didn’t want to take a chance on him inheriting that from me, and breaking out in the awful rash that defines this allergy. I love that most organic diapers are bio degradable, they use very safe ingredients, and you almost never hear of diaper rashes happening with these brands I’m about to share with you. On my search for the organic diaper with the best performance, I came across so many different opinions. This is to be expected as every baby is different, and performance really depends 75% on the baby not the diaper. The first ones you usually come across are diapers from the Honest Company. These generally have pretty low performance reviews, and are quite a bit pricier than other organic brands. I did however get the trial 7 pack just to see what I thought of them. Next is the Seventh Generation diapers. These are unbleached, and have awesome ingredients. Plus you can find them in a store easier than most other organic brands. I also chose their wipes because of the awesome reviews, and once again, ingredients. These diapers have begun to get some nasty reviews however, because of the new design being not as good as the old one. I have quite a few packs of these, and will let you know what I think after trying them out. Up next is the Andy Pandy brand. These get pretty awesome reviews as far as organic diapers go, and are the softest diaper I’ve ever felt. They also have a wetness indicator line, so bonus points for that! I got two big ole packs from Diapers.com for a great price, so I’m really excited to try them and hopefully love them. Earths Best is another brand I really want to try, as they got close to the highest review out there for disposable organics. I am going to wait until I see what size I really need before I order these. Lastly is Naty, a brand I only came across on Diapers.com while searching their organic diaper selection. I REALLY want to love these. They are so stinking cute, and fairly affordable as far as diapers in this category go. People have had cosmetic problems with these (the diaper being busted open upon opening a new pack), so we shall see what we shall see! Lastly as far as wipes are concerned, I really want to love the honest company wipes, but they seriously smell like straight up chemicals to me… We shall see. Their packaging is so darn cute, and makes me happy every time I see it, so I want to love them (it’s just those prices…). 

  
These are a few other things I thought I’d throw in there. Not all organic, but I trust these things to be just fine for baby (it’s a rag for crying out loud). The natursutten paci was a must for me, even though a paci is absolutely NOT a must. I just thought it would be good to have one on hand in case it really is a lifesaver, and in reading a little bit on the harmful stuff in regular pacis, and how easily they can be chewed and pieces swallowed, I definitely felt that this was the best brand to go with. Plus it’s SO cute. The Baltic Amber necklace is a growing trend, and not because they are so adorable on your baby! The benefits are amazing, and I seriously can’t wait to try it out on Iver. I really loved that this one had different color beads, as it makes it a bit less girly. Also going to try doubling it around his ankle for a more boyish look! The gripe water is something I’ve read you just shouldn’t be caught without, so I feel better having it on hand just in case. The Como Tomo bottle got the best reviews for breastfed babies, and I have to say it’s pretty awesome feeling… The base is squishy, and you can tell a lot of thought went into the nipple part. I have no idea if we will ever use it, but I figure it’ll be good to have on hand, right?  Lastly is the little yellow brush. I want to have a natural wooden one for when his hair is longer, but for now I got the good old fashioned cradle cap brush. I remember using this the most with my baby brother, and it was a lifesaver whenever he did develop a bad case of cradle cap.  

 
Here’s a picture of our diaper caddy for good measure. Stuffed with the Andy Pandy newborn diapers, honest company diapers and wipes, Babo Botanicals diaper cream, Earth mama angel baby lotion, Honest Co hand sanitizer and healing balm, baby brush, and little tie up bags made specially for tying up smelly diapers before chunking them in the trash. 

Maybe this will help other mamas looking for a more gentle, organic way of baby care, and save you the time that I took for research! I can’t wait to try these on bub, and for now will enjoy using a little for myself when I think about it (hehe). When it comes to our little ones, don’t you want to know exactly what is going in their system, as you do control it? For me this is a must, and is so worth all the reading and a bit of extra money to go toward quality and good ingredients that I trust. Listed below are links to some of the above mentioned items! 

 Natursutten BPA-Free Natural Rubber Pacifier, Rounded Small, 0-6 Months https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001AVPLR0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_5ZacxbBHQX86W

Earth Mama Angel Baby Body Wash & Shampoo Pure Castile Vanilla Orange Soap for Every Body Liter 34oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000JVA7UI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_e2acxbAG6FE4G

Earth Mama Angel Baby Angel Baby Lotion Bottle, 8-Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000P7M26I/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_B2acxbJV740FD

Amber Teething Necklace for Babies (Unisex) – Anti Flammatory, Drooling & Teething Pain Reduce Properties – Certificated Natural Oval Baltic Jewelry with the Highest Quality Guaranteed. Easy to Fastens with a Twist-in Screw Clasp Mothers Approved Remedies! https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00L2FPBXS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_u6acxbCWP29PR

Comotomo Natural Feel Baby Bottle, Green, 8 Ounces https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004C053AQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_96acxb1RGHP07

Bean B Clean Baby Scalp Massaging Brush for Cradle Cap (Old Model) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002PYZCWU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_E7acxbCPMW2ND

Babo Botanicals Soothing Diaper Cream, 3 Ounce – Natural Zinc, Sensitive Skin, Best Natural Diaper Rash Cream https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AEGLA4U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_77acxbZK69NHA

Andy Pandy Baby Diapers http://www.Diapers.com/p/s-1200548?noappbanner=true

Naty Diapers http://www.Diapers.com/p/s-5984?noappbanner=true

Seventh Generation Baby Wipes http://www.Diapers.com/p/s-4555?noappbanner=true

Seventh Generation Free & Clear Sensitive Skin Baby Diapers http://www.Diapers.com/p/s-1143489?noappbanner=true

Munchkin Sarabear Portable Diaper Caddy, White Waffle https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00674S4LU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_x.acxbHHBTGQB

Much love, Allyn xoxo  

Leave a comment